Got focus?

04/10/2010 at 6:20 pm Leave a comment

When I was applying to college it never occurred to me to apply with the focus of a career in the arts. I thought art was something I was only supposed to do in free time – in college you went for a ‘high brow’ career. After multiple changes in my major I graduated with a Bachelor’s in Sociology, with emphasis on Justice Administration. (And then I went into Information Technology, but that’s another post…) I’ve had a great career in IT, and with my new work from home position I now have more time to draw and create more frequently. But feel that I lack focus in my metalsmithing, that I can’t seem to find a clear focus in my design asthetic – flora, fauna, geekery, serious, whimsical, resin work… the list could go on and on because I love it all. So, I sometimes wonder if this is because I didn’t go to ‘Art School’. Would I have gained a more direct focus there? I honestly don’t know.  On Tuesday I begin a refresher course in metalsmithing with one of my favorite instructors, and hoping that lends itself to a little more direction. But for now, I’ll just go with it and keep on practicing.

If you have any tips on developing a focus please let me know. I’d love to hear from you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Dave and I got hitched… What a Whirlwind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Missing Piece Cuff Links in Sterling

Aspen Leaf Cuff Links in Sterling

Clover Cuff Links in Sterling

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


